This is the sixth writing competition to be held in memory of the late T.F. Evans, long time editor of the Shaw Society journal The Shavian.


The Award is offered for a previously unpublished and unperformed sequel, prequel or interlude to Shaw’s play On the Rocks or a new short play based on the extraordinary world events of our time and how they might have been treated by Shaw if he had been alive today.  


The prize will be awarded to the entry that most impresses the judges who will be looking for that combination of features for which Shaw was famous: wit and wordplay within a social and political context. The Playwriting Award is open to all. The winning entrant will receive £500 and a rehearsed reading of their play will be performed in public by professional actors.  

A recording of the performance will be available to the winner.



Sylvia Syms OBE, actor

Edward Kemp Director RADA

Sue Morgan, Custodian of Shaw’s Corner

Toni Kanal, actor

Alan Knight, retired drama lecturer


Entry fee: £8.00  Student Concession: £5.00     Submission deadline : 1 November 2017

For terms and conditions see below

HMRC Charities Ref EW22823

Click here for a PDF of Terms and conditions


T.F.Evans Award

Joint winners of the

2016 Award


Above-Theodore D. Kemper of New York,

Below-Anne Wright receiving her award from David Evans, the son of TF Evans